The Reporter covers Miller, Morgan and Camden County in Central Missouri's Lake of the Ozarks and is published once per week on Wednesdays.


Published April 4, 2018

Candidates set for the Aug. Primary

CAMDEN COUNTY – With the exception of independent and write-in candidates, the list for public offices up for election this year has been finalized with the closing of the filing deadline last week.

The list for the August Primary Election this year includes several Democrats and Libertarian candidates who will try and win votes from what has been in the past a mainly Republican county.

Presiding Commissioner tops the list with incumbent Greg Hasty trying to retain his position against another republican, James Rericha.

On the Democratic ticket Shari L. Gaddy will seek the position. Libertarian Marshall Peterson is also on the ballot wanting the job for Presiding Commissioner.

For County Clerk, Incumbent Rowland Todd has several wanting his position. Republican Ernest Calvert will try and unseat Todd.

In addition, throwing himself into the fight is Libertarian James O’Brien.

In the Circuit Clerk’s office, current office holder Jo McElwee will face off against another Republican, Melissa Mackay and Democrat Joanne Bodziony.

County Recorder Donnie Snelling (Republican) also has a familiar name attempting to unseat him from his position and that person is Republican Bernie Mowinski.

Mowinski over the years has run for several different elected positions including running for U.S. Senator in 2016. Mowinski was attempting to take the position of Senator Roy Blunt.

In that primary, Blunt received a total of 480,878 votes from Missouri voters while Mowinski took home 18,801 votes.

County Auditor Jimmy Laughlin (Republican) will be the only candidate on the August Primary running for that position.

Michael Dorf has filed with the Missouri Ethics Commission for the position but is running as an Independent and will not participate in the August Primary. He will be on the November ballot if he officially files for the office later this year.

Current County Collector Teresa Murray (Republican) and Democrat Nancy J. Bates will be alone in the August primary for their respective parties and if not beaten by a write-in candidate, will face each other in the November election.

Running alone in the August Primary is:

• Heather Miller (Republican) for Prosecuting Attorney
• Michael Gilley (Republican) for Associate Circuit Judge Division 4
• Aaron Koeppen (Republican) for Associate Circuit Judge Division 5

Local Representative Diane Franklin (MO House of Representatives District 123) is seeking to take over the seat currently held by Sam Brown (State Senator District 16).

She will be facing off against two other Republicans in the August Primary: Justin Dan Brown, of Rolla Missouri (son of current office holder Sam Brown), and Keith Frederick, also of Rolla Missouri.

The winner of that will face Democrat contender Ryan Dillon, of St. James, MO in November.

Those seeking to fill the office vacated by Franklin are four Republicans and one Democrat.

On the Republican ticket is:
• Suzie Pollock of Lebanon, MO
• Thomas Wyatt of Camdenton, MO
• Wes Powell of Stoutland, MO
• Nathan Williams of Camdenton, MO

On the Democrat ticket only one name has filed with the Secretary of State: Joe Register of Macks Creek, MO.

Register will face the winner of the Republican August primary in the November election.

All content is Copyright 2018 by Reporter Publishing, L.L.C. Unauthorized reproduction is prohibited without written permission.